Welcome TO AJK Election Commission

General Dashboard | Party Position

Azad Jammu and Kashmir Election Commission (AJK EC) was created under article 50 of Interim Constitution, with Chief Election Commissioner as Chairman and two members. The Constitution lays down the following qualifications for the Chief Election Commissioner and Members:-
No person shall be appointed as the Commissioner unless he has been a Judge of the Supreme Court or High Court or has been a civil servant of BPS-21 and above, in the service of Azad Jammu and Kashmir.

The Commission’s mandate has been spelled out in sub article (7) of article 50:-

It shall be the duty of the Commission to organize and conduct the election for the office of the President, the Assembly, the Council and local government bodies and to make such arrangements as are necessary to ensure that the election is conducted honestly, justly, fairly and in accordance with the law.

Terms of the office for the Chief Election Commissioner and Members have been fixed as five years and sub article (12) of the article 50 lays down that CEC and Members can only be removed in the manner prescribed in article 42-E.

The Commission is responsible for the free fair, impartial and transparent elections for the posts of:-

Members AJK Council.
Members AJK Legislative Assembly.
Members of Local Govt. bodies.

For the purpose of elections, Election Commission also undertakes the following activities:-

Delimitation of Constituencies of the assembly.
Preparation and updation of Electoral Rolls.